​​​
The Recent Release of the First in a New Series!  Death and a Pot of Chowder, by Cornelia Kidd, sale/signing on Saturday, July 21st, 10:30-12:30​​​














About Death and a Pot of Chowder:
Maine’s Quarry Island has a tight-knit community that’s built on a rock-solid foundation of family, tradition and hard work. But even on this small island, where everyone knows their neighbors, there are secrets that no one would dare to whisper. 

Anna Winslow, her husband Burt and their teenage son have deep roots on Quarry Island. Burt and his brother, Carl, are lobstermen, just like their father and grandfather before them. And while some things on the island never seem to change, Anna’s life is about to take some drastically unexpected turns. First, Anna discovers that she has a younger sister, Izzie Jordan. Then, on the day she drives to Portland to meet Izzie for the first time, Carl’s lobster boat is found abandoned and adrift. Later that evening, his corpse is discovered - but he didn’t drown. 

Whether it was an accident or murder, Carl’s sudden death has plunged Anna’s existence into deadly waters. Despite barely knowing one another and coming from very different backgrounds, Anna and Izzie unite to find the killer. With their family in crisis, the sisters strive to uncover the secrets hidden in Quarry Island - and, perhaps, the ones buried within their own hearts. 

Sure to be an intoxicating read for fans of Sarah Graves and Leslie Meier, Death and a Pot of Chowder is the first Maine Murder mystery by Cornelia Kidd.

About the Author:
Cornelia Kidd grew up in Maine and New Jersey, majored in drama and English at Chatham College in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and earned her MA and DWD in American Civilization at New York University. While raising the four daughters she adopted as a single parent, Wait worked in public relations and strategic planning for AT&T. She is now married to artist Bob Thomas.


From the Author:

​My favorite quotation is "Destiny is not a matter of chance, it is a matter of choice; it is not a thing to be waited for; it is a thing to be achieved." William Jennings Bryan wrote that, but I think it defines my life. 

For more information about me (and links to free prequels of my recent books!) check my website,
www.leawait.com, friend me on Facebook and Goodreads, like my www.facebook.com/authorLeaWait page, and read the blog (www.mainecrimewriters.com) I write with 9 other mystery writers from Maine. 

And remember ... LIFE is the real mystery! 


Maine author Lea Wait writes the Mainely Needlepoint series, the most recent of which is Thread and Gone, and the seven-book Shadows Antique Print Mystery series for adults, the most recent of which is Shadows on a Maine Christmas.  She invites readers to friend her on Facebook and Goodreads, and to visit her website, www.leawait.com

Wait also writes acclaimed historical novels for children aged 8-14 set in nineteenth century Maine. Her most recent (an Agatha Award finalist) is Uncertain Glory, about two boys who really did publish the town newspaper in Wiscasset. It’s set during the first two weeks of the Civil War. Her young adult books are on recommended reading lists throughout the country, and have been named to student choice award lists in fourteen states.

Awards:
2002 - Agatha finalist for Best First Mystery, Shadows at the Fair
2008 - Cornerstone Award for Achievement in Literature, Chatham University
2015 – Agatha finalist for Uncertain Glory